The Last Long Run; The Home Stretch

I’ve just returned to the glorious Bay Area after a glorious week in Seattle.  We (WebGreek) attended a tradeshow for the Fraternal Executives Association.  Without tipping our hand too much, we made a great big splash.  The basic gist is that we are the new kids on the block, and we are bringing the new school funky badness that everybody wants to get down with.  The old players, well, they’re old news.  The age of WebGreek is nigh upon us, and I hope you got your umbrella cuz this owl will be raining down a storm of awesome.

But you don’t read this blog for abstract, superlative-laden ministrations of our own superiority in the business realm.  So on to the running thing.

Firstly, I am happy to report that we’ve raised over $11,000!  Thanks to over 30 donors and $7700 worth of challenge grants, we are nearly halfway there with over a week to go.  Some additional good news: there are still a couple grand worth of challenge dollars out there, so anything up to that amount is still getting doubled.  A big thanks to those who have generously opened their hearts and wallets for this cause. You make this whole gig worthwhile.

Also worthwhile, and also big news, is the PARTAY!!!!!!!  So yesterday was my birthday (thanks mom for carrying me around for 26 years and 9 months), which means a celebration.  There will be a rather large Party/Fundraiser at Mars Bar on Wednesday, July 21.

Now, there are a few questions, so without further ado, here’s the FAQ

1. What’s the big deal?

The big deal is, I was yanked from my comfy placental nook precisely 26 years ago, and in this country, we celebrate that.  I figure that I can roll a celebration into the birthday challenge fundraising goal, by hosting a kickass party, having a kickass DJ play some kickass grooves, and having all my kickass friends kick in a few bucks toward relief in a country that needs it more than most.

2. DJ? What DJ?

Why, none other than DJ One-Z, aka our good friend Scott Kasting.  He’s just graduated from Expressions, and has played at many venues including our housewarming party Mad Haight, and Dirty Dishes.  He’s been working on some killer stuff lately, and is guaranteed to get your feet moving.

3. Sounds dope. How much should I be expecting to contribute?

We’ll be asking for $10 donation at the door, and hopefully there will be a drink special that will also contribute to the Haiti Fund.  Additionally, we’ll be doing a raffle, with such awesome prizes as bottles of Remy Martin and Korbel Brandy, as well as other sweet swag.

4. How do I get there?

Well, you’re in luck.  Whether you are from the East Bay or SF, Mars Bar is centrally located in SOMA on Brannan and 7th, convenient to the 101 freeway.  See below for a handy little guide.

Click on the image to see it full-size

5. What should I wear?

Anyone who knows me knows I don’t do much by way of formal, but I’d never say no to seein’ you lookin’ purty.  If you got it, I would ask that you dress in blue and/or red, as they are the colors of the Haiti flag.  Mostly, I just want to see you.

If you need more details or whatever, just ask me.  I’m reachable.  Savvy?

Leave a Reply

